shim shim shim shim shim
spacer The Who RAH CD cover sublogo home bio
bands gigs sessions sitemap
shim shim shim shim shim

Zak Starkey on
The Who - 2003 Releases

""|  summary  |  releases  |  live  |


The Who - Live at the Royal Albert Hall:

Announced Dec 20, 2002 - A double CD of the Teenage Cancer Trust RAH 2000 Show was to have been released in March of 2003. [This is the same show that has been previously released on DVD in Sept 2001]. The report indicated that all proceeds would go to the TCT, and it would also include a 4 track bonus CD with songs from the band's 2002 RAH-TCT performances: I'm Free, Young Man Blues, I Don't Even Know Myself and Summertime Blues.

cd coverThis was to have been originally released June 30, 2003 on SPV (a gmbh label) in two forms: A double CD with two bonus tracks from the 2002 RAH shows, and a 3 disc SACD/CD digipak version, where the third disc is a bonus CD containing all four songs listed above.

It appears that SPV decided to drop plans for the dual format SACD/CD world wide (it DID get released in this format in Japan on July 2!) (updated2.gif SACD being released Jan 6, 2004!) and instead released a regular three disc CD where the third disc is still the bonus 4 tracks (June 30 UK,Europe and July 22 in the US). It is currently unclear if this 3 CD set is STILL limited and will eventually be replaced by the 2 CD w/only two extra tracks after the initial run is depleted.

Live at the Royal Albert Hall - Steamhammer - SPV 093-74882 [3 CD]
Made in Germany and packaged in standard double-wide 3 CD jewel case, complete with cardboard slip case. The German pressing appears to have been sold in the US, UK and Euro as domestic product, although some copies in the US did not have the cardboard
Live At the Royal Albert Hall - Steamhammer/SPV/Crown Nippon [3 CD]
whorahjapcd.jpgSACD/CD Hybrid, packages in 3 card, mini LP type sleeves, with photo-credit booklet, bio with titles in English, main text in Japanese, all housed in a slip case, with obi and inside a resealable poly bag, with a Who sticker.
(Japanese import)

(song titles same for all 3 CD, SACD/CD versions)
Disc 1 Disc 2 Bonus Disc 3
  1. I Can't Explain
  2. Anyway Anyhow Anywhere
  3. Pinball Wizard
  4. Relay
  5. My Wife
  6. The Kids Are Alright
  7. Mary Anne With the Shaky Hand
  8. Bargain
  9. Magic Bus
  10. Who Are You
  11. Baba O'Riley
  1. Drowned
  2. Heart To Hang Onto
  3. So Sad About Us
  4. I'm The One
  5. Getting In Tune
  6. Behind Blue Eyes
  7. You Better You Bet
  8. The Real Me
  9. 5:15
  10. Won't Get Fooled Again
  11. Substitute
  12. Let's See Action
  13. My Generation
  14. See Me Feel Me / Listening to You
  1. I'm Free
  2. I Don't Even Know Myself
  3. Summertime Blues
  4. Young Man Blues
 Live At The Royal Albert Hall - Radio Sampler [SPV 800000573]
sampler cd

This is a sampler promo marked "made in Germany" and contains 4 thirty second samples and one full track from the full CD release. Issued in a slimline jewel case, with insert.

  1. Anyway Anyhow Anywhere 00:30
  2. Magic Bus - 0:30
  3. Who Are You - 0:30
  4. 5:15 - 0:30
  5. The Real Me - 5:30
Who Are You - Promo Video VHS (PAL) - Steamhammer SPV LC09002
promo videoA promo video was distributed to promote the live album release. The cover and video label stated:
'Taken from the forthcoming live-album "Live at the Royal Albert Hall"
Length 5:10 min. Was issued in a hard case with graphic insert, marked "For promotion only" and had the media promotions company contact sticker affixed to the back.


The Vegas Job: The Who Reunion Live in Las Vegas

vegasjobcvr.jpgDirect Video Distribution Ltd.  DVDL001D - UK/Euro REGION 2
Released Nov 10, 2003 (US release due 2004)

This is a 90 minute DVD that contains the 1999 Las Vegas Pixelon "iBash" concert. This helped start the ball rolling for the return of the band to to the road! The money earned from this performance allowed The Who to finance the charity shows that followed and was a glimpse of the fire and power of what was to come in their subsequent UK and US tours over the next couple of years!
5:1 and DTS sound, no widescreen, and includes interviews with Fans, Roger and John. Unfortunately the alternate camera angles that were available on the ultra-short lived Pixelon site are NOT included here ;-(  

""|back to Zak's work with The Who 2003 |
""|back to Zak's  Discography Index |
""|back to Zak's  Bands,Gigs,Sessions  |

target Other Who related sections on Kathy's Zak Starkey Site: target
Quad Hyde Park and MSG * Quad USA '96 * Quad Europe '97 * Quad USA '97
Who's Serious? * Daltrey Sings Townshend * Who convention '95
Pete's Olivier Award Party * John Entwistle's The Rock * Pete's 98 solo gigs
* Who 1999 shows * The Who 2000 * Tony Ashton Testimonial Show
The Who 2001 * The Who 2002 * The Who 2003 * The Who 2004 *
* The Who 2005 * The Who 2006 *The Who 2007 *
* The Who 2008 *The Who 2009 *The Who 2010 *The Who 2011*
* Kathy's Simon Townshend Pages *

Related Links:

Last Updated: Wednesday, November 24, 2004
Created: June 2003 
Copyright © Kathy VanTassell

ftr3spacer.gif ftr3logo.gif Email Kathy!
Sign Guestbook gb_blue.gif
View Guestbook